Jesus is Passing By

This morning’s Stillspeaking Devotional title is Depression.  My first thought was, what could this person possibly know about depression?  Are they going to remind me that God can heal all my whoa’s?  Surely I was doubtful that I could be touched this morning. Not exactly sure why I was so cynical, except feeling disappointed that I reached out to my brother on Saturday by email and text and I have not had a response, and for some reason, I just needed to feel a connection.  I am fully aware that today is Monday, and since we work together, I will eventually hear from him, but work and personal connections are different.  I needed a personal connection.  I opened the devotional this morning, and as I started to read the simple message, I heard the cynic whisper, blah, blah, blah. However, something in me said, “Nicole, read the entire message, don’t stop.” When I read the line that states, “‘Jesus, have mercy.’  I say it out loud and Depression turns his head, shushes me.”  I was slightly amused, and could relate, because when depression settles in he tries to shush our ability to reach out. He sits in a seat blocking personal connections.  I questioned, does this really work.  I say to myself, Jesus, have mercy.  As if I had just dropped some Dawn soap into a soaking fry pan; the film of cynicism that seemed to coat my brain broke down, because suddenly I felt God, and felt reassured that he heard me also. He gave me a new tool to fight off the shushes of depression and to unseat him.  This morning, Jesus passed by my email, and I am so thankful that he did not pass me by, he heard my humble cry.  I am so thankful to be able to witness to the fact that God is still answering our prayers.  I echo the prayer of Pastor Jennifer Garrison Brownell this morning.

Brother Christ, when we feel isolated by illness or grief, bring the healing presence of Your loving community right to us.  Amen.

Click the link below to read the Stillspeaking Devotional

Leave a comment